Digging for Gold

I have always wondered what it would be like to find treasure. I do not know what I would do with it except maybe spend it on college, but the thought of finding long lost treasure is such an appealing one. When I first saw the movie National Treasure, I honestly believed that almost everything in that movie could actually happen. After I saw the movie, I kept expecting to see on the news that the Declaration of Independence had been stolen. Needless to say I was a little let down when I realized it cannot actually be done. Not only can the Declaration of Independence not be stolen, but other scenes in the movie are historically wrong or impossible.

The treasure that is being searched for in the movie is called the Knights Templar Treasure. It is true that the Knights Templar society existed and they searched Solomon’s temple for treasure. People assumed they found it because they became wealthy and powerful. Eventually they left for Scotland because they were to be captured by The Pope and the King of France. However, no one knows where or even if the treasure exists. The treasure was completely made up for the plot of the movie. It tied in actual history and made the movie enjoyable.

There could be treasure out there for me to find, but unfortunately it will not be one that has a hidden map on the back of the Declaration of Independence.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment