I Had a Dream

I had a dream the other night. Like most of my dreams, it was very diffuse and hard to grasp. I was swung back and forth between different places in a way that appeared to make sense while I was dreaming, but just seemed strange when thinking about it afterwards. I woke up confused, with a feeling of fear, a racing heart, and with adrenaline rushing through my body. It took me some time to even realize what the dream had actually been about, but when I did, the strange and fear-inflicting events at least made some sense. I had been dreaming about the movie “Sunshine” (2007), and about a few specific scenes and aspects of it.

The dream started at home in Sweden, at some sort of university or library where I was reading what I think was physics. This is not too strange, since I was originally planning on studying engineering physics, before deciding to move to the U.S. Then, out of nowhere, I’m in some sort of chamber, where the walls are silver-gray and made of metal. I walk out through a door and enter a long maze of narrow corridors. As in most of my dreams, I wasn’t consciously thinking about what I was doing, but it did seem like I knew where I was going through that maze. Then, once again, I’m slung from that place, and all of a sudden I see myself falling. At first, I see nothing. I just feel that I’m falling uncontrollably. Then, I move from a first-person-perspective to a third-person-perspective, and I see myself surrounded by fire, falling in the exact same way you see Capa falling towards the sun in the dream-scene in “Sunshine”. Then, I woke up.

I don’t know why I had this particular dream, and I find it odd that I dreamed about the movie now. I did watch it twice, but that was several weeks ago, and I haven’t really spent any thoughts on it at all recently.

Some dream theorists, like psychiatrist Carl Jung and fiction-writer Stephen King, believe that dreaming is a way of subconsciously dealing with the conscious problems of daily life. Others, like non-fiction author and Yale-alumnus Marc Ian Barasch, believe that dreams often serve as therapy, and that having a particular dream is part of a subconscious process of healing the conscious mind of the dreamer. In the movie, the dream is an interesting element in a really good overall depiction of the psychological aspects of space travel, and of a save-the-world kind of mission. Conducting a mission like this, or just traveling in space, must undoubtedly be mentally demanding, with a lot of “dead” time for your mind to play tricks with you. Having anxious dreams about the mission, and about what’s going to happen towards the end of the mission, seems very likely to occur. This is depicted well in the scene where Capa dreams of falling into the sun, and in the following dialogue between him and Cassie.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

